BA Shared Topic – Starting Over

This post is a response to a Blog Azeroth Shared Topic I saw when perusing the forums in between bouts of gnome-killing.

If you had the chance to start all over again in WoW, but your char is already level 80, or level 1 depending on if you like to level or not :>. What class would you pick? What race? What faction?
Why would you pick that class/race/faction?

And most of all what would you plan to do with it? Raid, PvP or just hang out in Dalaran?

It just fascinates me what people would do if they would be given the option to start all over again on the highest level, would you pick the same class you play now or would you make your secret wish of playing (say) a mage come true?

Like to hear your stories Mine will be up after dinner.

PS. Would love to hear some RP blogs on this. Would you pick the same sort of character with the same sort of background or would you make up something entirely new?

Phew, well that’s quite a big question. If I had to start, all over again? I might just stop playing. I know that I’d need time to recover a bit from my beloved characters’ disappearance as I’ve grown quite connected to them as digital representations of myself over the course of my WoW life.

In case you didn’t know, my main is  a Protection Paladin named Vash. I’ve got one 80 alt, and that’s an Orc hunter named Ironsights. I’ve got alot of achievements, mounts, titles, minipets, etc on my Paladin and he has been my main since Burning Crusade, as well as my first max level character. I’ve had the best times on my paladin, but those times are past, and if I had to start all over again, I’d probably choose to play a hunter(Gasp, shock, horror!). Yes, I’ve been Protection and actively tanking since my first talent points on Vash and it’s been fun, but I’m ready for a new role now.

Ranged DPS is thrillingly different to tanking or melee. I have alot more room for manoeuvrability, I generally have to move less, and unless the boss has a cleave I don’t really need to worry about where I stand as long as it’s not within my dead zone.

THE most fun part of being a DPS though, ranged or otherwise, isssss….*drumroll*…wait for it!…..here it comes!….!

If you die or fuck up, the raid doesn’t die with you.

This is such a fucking relief, let me tell you. It’s so much more relaxing to just concentrate on shooting or stabbing the big bad guy with sharp things, or wiggling your fingers at him than to be the one your raid/party depends on to carry them through the encounter. If I as a dps fuck up, oh no, a loss of DPS, if I as a tank fuck up, we’re fucked, and that attempt on the boss is over unless it’s within a few percent of keeling over. Also I finally get to use some of those sweet looking dps weapons they’ve got lying around.

So the answer to the question in a general sort of way seems to be that I would prefer any role that is not quite as stressful as tanking!

Of course, this is assuming I stay Horde. Oh the untold mysteries of the Alliance! (Which I am exploring on my Dwarf Priest Rales on Aerie Peak EU)

Leave a comment