Dalaran

City of the Kirin’Tor; City of Magic and Wonder. Beset by the Horde; attacked by the Scourge and razed by Archimonde, it was repopulated slowly. The mages that were drawn back to their beloved capital erected a giant forcefield around it while repairs continued, eager to put the terrors of the past behind them and work in concert to make it once again the center for magical arts and learning. Upon hearing of the impending assault on Northrend the Kirin’Tor dismantled their cities protective bubble; using unbelievable arcane might, they transported their city all the way to Northrend and set it in place hovering over Crystalsong forest. They have since kept watch and aided many adventurers on their journeys; they have also joined in the assault on Ulduar as well as having a token force at the Crusaders Coliseum.

Many players enjoy Dalarans multitude of benefits. It has ample portals, one to each major city and then one to the Outland hub Shattrath. Dalaran also has two banks, multiple inns, a portal to Wintergrasp, a level 80 5 man dungeon, the highest level profession trainers, and some whimsical NPC’s. The list of features goes on for a long time. This hub has so very many fanciful and wondrous things to astound and amaze us, as well as many things on the practical side. Such a convienient city.

I fucking hate it.

Everything from the music to the colour scheme, even the NPC’s. God I am sickened by this bloody city. I hate it’s guts. The hate has transcended and become an entity unto itself; I often have long conversations with this manifestation of my hatred for Dalaran, it enjoys crumpets and theater shows about dolphins. I have run so many laps around that town square as to make my characters permanently unable to distinguish left from up, or right from toast. I have gone to Dubin Clay in the blacksmith shop so many times and hit that little anvil icon time and again; I have put his children and his childrens children down through to the generation that will be herald to the worlds doom through college. I have long since ceased to find “Tanks for Everything” and “Simply Enchanting” amusing titles for shops; I have long since stopped caring about Glowergold and his fucking cheese; I have long since stopped liking this place.

And Yet….

I spend most of my time there. Every day the place you’re most likely to find me is Dalaran, jumping around or circling the middle of town. I feel chained to the place due to it’s convenience and it’s position in Northrend. I can get to any place that’s current content from there much quicker than anywhere else. I could use Shattrath, sure I could but then to get to any of the raids I would have to get a portal to Orgrimmar or Undercity and get a zepplin alllll the way to one of the starting zones and then fly alllll the way to the other side of the map because that’s where ALL the raids are apart from Naxxramas and the dragon Sanctums.

In Cataclysm there is one thing I want more than anything; More than Worgen Ninjas; more than a fix to distracting shot; I dare say even more than Good friends and Good raids. No, all these things I could do without, what I really want in Cataclysm is to get out of this damned city.

Come on Blizzard, give me somewhere new; I’m sick of these mage guys in their sissy robes. 🙂

4 Responses to Dalaran

  1. Anea says:

    Aside from the lag, what I dislike most about Dalaran is the music. Which fills me with such sadness, because the irony is that I loved it SO MUCH when I first got to Dalaran, I would idle around doing (whatever it is I wanted to do) and keep the music playing on loop.

    I can’t stand to hear it now and I try to get out of the city as soon as I can – not because I hate the lag, or all the people doing nothing but showing off their mounts, but because the music bugs the hell out of me.

    • evilbeards says:

      I agree with you there; When I first went to Dalaran that music seemed so ethereal and nice, now it just makes me turn the sound off whenever I’m there. I don’t know what it is about the music in particular, maybe it’s just too samey, but I can’t remember hating Shattraths music this much.

      Here’s hoping that the Temple of Earth in Cataclysm will have portals and some better tunes!

  2. dinosaadeh says:

    I cannot believe someone hates the music.. Dalaran’s music makes me float.. It fills me with bright serene hope. I hate the fact there are no more portals there.. I would have stayed there =(

    When I tell my friends about Dalaran, the way I describe it, damn so magical

Leave a Reply

