A new lease on WoW life

So, as some of you may know, I’ve recently been burning out on Wow. What with guild leadership stress and the falling apart of that guild, I was just shattered and I couldn’t muster any enthusiasm. I stopped logging on much at all and when I did I didn’t really do much.

Recently though, things have changed a bit.

How you ask? Well I’ll tell you my bright-eyed little disciple. I completely stopped playing for any other reason than to have fun. I got into a ToC 25 man run on my alt hunter, I didn’t care how many bosses we downed, I was having great fun and kept yammering on and making little jokes that popped into my head. We only made it up to Faction Champs where we wiped on that run, incidentally.

I made a couple of friends from it though, who said that there was a place in their guild if ever I wanted it. That made me feel good, because I was just having fun and I infected the people around me with that fun. It was a great feeling.

I then logged on tonight, wanting to raid. I spotted someone looking for a Rotface tank. So I hopped onto my paladin and I responded and was promptly invited. This was a raid that was a joint effort between two guilds who usually raid together with a pretty stable IC 10 group. They asked me if I had vent and then gave me the details of the one they were using. I popped on and they were friendly and nice. (The raid leader was also from Ireland, and I always love meeting a fellow countryman, countrywomen in this case)

I gave a few pointers when the tactics were being explained (I was asked, I’m not snooty) and we proceeded to try him out. We wiped I think….3 times? Maybe 2. But it was fun the whole time. I couldn’t give a shit if we were wiping, I was having a ball of a time tanking for these people and chatting away. We killed Rotface and moved onto Putricide. I wasn’t expecting much from this group as they seemed uncoordinated.

I was wrong.

We didn’t kill him, I think the closest we got was 41%. However, I could see them improving each time, reassuring each other and doing everything with a casual and fun attitude. This was fantastic, this is what raids were meant to be like. By the end of the night we called it because people had to sleep.

I didn’t mind that we’d only killed one boss, I couldn’t give a shit about loot. I made more friends and spent a very enjoyable evening killing giant monsters, and isn’t that what WoW is supposed to be about?

Leave a Reply

