Burnout and Guild Death

<Generic Guild> is a 10 man raiding guild that I started on the Anachronos server. It has cleared 6/11 in ICC 10, Trial of the Crusader 10, and Onyxia 10. However, due to various factors, it is ceasing all raiding and effectively shutting down. Not everyone has come online yet to see that this is the case. I expect a mass exodus when they do. It saddens me a little, seeing something I created die like this, and some of the people I will miss in time I’m sure. All things must come to an end though, and to be truthful, the main emotion I’m feeling now is relief.

That may seem strange to some of you, but I’m sure those who have been involved with leadership in guilds might have an insight as to why this is. The long and short of it is that it was too stressful for me. I couldn’t deal with all the problems that plagued us as a guild. The people who didn’t show up for raids, those who were unreliable, those who were whiny. I had begun to resent and dislike everyone in the guild, I hated logging on, I was burning out faster than a fire lit in the Mariana’s Trench.

I was finally given a break when one of our officers announced via forum post that he was no longer interested in playing WoW, he too was feeling stressed. With him leaving, I knew that I didn’t have the energy or the inclination to keep the guild going, so I decided to call it quits. Being a small 10 man guild with few members, I knew that with the loss of a top DPS and the best geared tank no one would want to take over from me. So I logged on and told the guys, they took it allright actually, I think most that were online had seen it coming. Unsurprising, given how strongly my burnout symptoms had begun to manifest.

Stuff I’ve learned from this

When burnout begins to set in and you want nothing more than to just pretend WoW doesn’t exist, it can be hard to see past the responsibilities you have to your guild and the people in it. “Oh but they need me to tank, if I leave it all falls apart” or “But I’ve always been there for them, they’ll hate me if I leave them” This is bullshit, you have to realise that it is a game. If you are not enjoying the game, then it is selfish and immature of other people to expect you to continue on purely for their benefit.

Treat everyone like adults and admit that you’re feeling burnt out, or that you need a break. If you keep it bottled up you’re going to lash out in annoyance and frustration, and you will make yourself and everyone around you even more unhappy.

Do yourself a favour and ask yourself, Am I still having fun?

Leave a Reply

